For International Men's day, we wanted to shine a light on some of the amazing men that work for Johnsons Workwear and find out a little more about them.

Meet Systems Developer Don Lee:

Talk us through an average day in your life: 

I start my day by making myself a nice coffee, and then start my commute from Manchester to our Fulwood office. I officially start my shift at 7.30am and spend my day mainly focusing on development work and have meetings occasionally. I then use my lunch break at the gym. I finish my shift at 3.40pm and then drive back home, spending the rest of my evening relaxing and spending quality time with my wife and son which is followed by making dinner!

What did you want to be when you were younger? 
I would have like to have been a hiking porter or hiking guide, both jobs mean you can stay on mountains as long as you wish, which is where I am the calmest!

What do you think are some of the biggest challenges facing young boys and men today? 

There are so many different options and career choices compared to years ago, this puts a lot of pressure on young people in general as you may not know which route to take.

How do you look after your mental health? 

I like to exercise a lot; I hike when I can in my spare time aswell.

What advice would you give your younger self? 

Keep the habit of exercising regularly, it's so important the older you get
What changes would you like to see in the future for men and their mental health? 

The pressure of having a good job and being able to support your family is very tough, especially in these times. I wish that things will get easier in the future.
Who is your biggest male inspiration in life? 

Koreeda Hirodazu, a Japanese film director, his style of filming is to find small but meaningful moments rather than dramatic tension, I have learnt a lot from his films. 
What is your proudest achievement?  

In early 2021, me, my wife and my 1-year-old son moved to the UK from Hong Kong, which was the most challenging part of my life, a lot of "first-time" happened during that period. It was the first time for taking our 1-year-old baby on a flight, and our first time in Europe.